-   什麼是爬蟲
種類數目之分類表
世界爬蟲種類分佈圖
 
   

什麼是爬蟲?大部份人的第一個想法就是那些毒蛇或在電視上看見過的大巨蜥和鱷魚。

其實,除此之外,還有很多樣子有趣,外形獨特和帶有鮮豔顏色的品種,當中更有些品種可供飼養,尤如飼養貓狗、熱帶魚和金魚一樣。

那麼飼養爬蟲動物和飼養一般的寵物有何不同?
首先我們要知道爬蟲是屬於冷血動物,牠們和貓狗,倉鼠,天竹鼠,龍貓或兔是不同的。牠們不能靠進食而產生熱量,更不能靠皮毛來保溫。相反地,牠們是要靠外來的熱力以幫助消化食物和生存。故此,大部份的爬蟲動物每天都會在原居地找合適的地方,在太陽下進行日照。我們亦不適宜和牠們有太多的接觸,因會導致拒食或受壓等問題,何況它們沒有貓狗般聰明,是不會辨認主人的。我們應抱著觀賞和了解它們生態的角度去飼養。

怎樣開始飼養爬蟲?
足夠的空間和齊全的設備是首要的條件。絕大部份的品種均需要吸取 UVA / 長波長紫外光 和 UVB / 短波長紫外光,長時間缺乏會導致骨骼疾病等問題,甚至死亡;此外,我們亦不能提供牠們在原居地所有能攝取的食物,因此,需要定時把鈣粉或維他命添加劑混進飼料中。還要切記飼養箱不可過度擠迫或胡亂混養,短暫的共處不等於能健康地成長,反而會使問題接踵而來!

那一個品種是最多人選擇飼養的爬蟲動物?
我深信是紅耳龜,俗稱巴西龜 (Red ear slider / Trachemys scripta elegans)。也許你們年幼時也曾飼養過。其實要令牠們健康地成長,也不是一件容易的事情!適當的環境,並配合相關的設備是首要的條件,以下便是飼養牠們的設計草圖。


 
   
種類數目之分類表



Amphisbaenia
( 無足蜥蝪 )
160
Sauria
( 蜥蝪 )
4610
Serpentes
( 蛇 )
2911
Testudines
( 龜 )
296
Crocodylia
( 鱷魚 )
23
Rhynchocephalia
( 楔齒蜥 )
2
爬蟲種類總數
8002
 
   
世界爬蟲種類分佈圖



以上的數字僅為搜尋個別國家或區域的資料庫所得,與實際數字會有一定的差距,因為有一些爬蟲會出現於一個或已上的地區。 ( 例如 ︰中美洲和南美洲 )
 
   

Copyright (c) 2001 ReptileParadise.com

-   What is Reptile
Species Number by Higher Taxa
Worldwide Diversity of Reptiles
 
   

What is reptile? The first things come to most people's mind may be snakes, giant lizards or crocodiles shown on TV programs.

Actually, there are many more reptiles in the world. Some species have funny faces, beautiful outlooks or colourful skins. Many of these species can be kept in house and become a friend of you, just like keeping dogs, cats and fishes.

What are the differences between keeping reptiles and other kinds of pets?
First of all, we have to understand that, reptiles are cold-blooded animals. Unlike cats, dogs, hamsters, guinea pigs, chinchillas or rabbits, reptiles cannot produce heat energy from eating or keep their bodies warm by fur. They have to use the external heat to help digest food and survive. Therefore, most reptiles have to find a suitable place in their habitat to enjoy the sunlight everyday. In addition, we should not have frequent direct contact with them because it will create a lot of problems such as refusing to eat or feeling under pressure. Even though reptiles are not as smart as cats and dogs which can recognize their masters, we can enjoy the beauty of natural creatures and experience the wonder of wild animals when keeping them.

How should I start keeping a reptile?
Enough space and facilities are the most important. Most reptiles need UVA and UVB to survive. Insufficient supply of UVA or UVB will lead to bone problems or, at worst, death. Since we cannot provide all necessary foods which are available at their natural habitat, calcium and vitamin supplements should be regularly added into their diets. Don't forget that enough space is imperative and different kinds of reptiles should not be kept together in the same cage. If reptiles are being kept in a crowd, they will have to face a lot of serious problems.


Which is the most popular choice of reptiles?
I think is the red ear slider (Trachemys scripta elegans). Some of you may have kept one in childhood. Actually, it is not an easy task to keep a red ear slider strong and healthy. Suitable environment and facilities are very important. Here is the figure showing you how to make it.

   
Species Numbers by Higher Taxa :


Amphisbaenia
(amphisbaenians)
160
Sauria
(lizards)
4610
Serpentes
(snakes)
2911
Testudines
(turtles)
296
Crocodylia
(crocodiles)
23
Rhynchocephalia
(tuataras)
2
Reptiles Total
8002
 
 
 
Worldwide Diversity of Reptiles



These numbers are simply derived from searching the database for the countries that make up a continent or area. Please note that the sum of all numbers is much larger than the number of species because many species occur in 2 or more adjacent areas (e.g. Central and South America).
 
   

Copyright (c) 2001 ReptileParadise.com